ABH contour kit VS. Kat Von D Shade & Light

This is the most asked about comparison and I happen to have them both. I’ve tired both of them and I absolutely loved both of them. The  problem was that the ABH contouring kit broke my skin out like CRAZY. I did not start getting breakouts till I started using the ABH contouring kit around Decemeber ’14. Kat Von D’s Shade and Light Contouring Kit is worth the price. I suggest buying that instead of the ABH one if your skin is sensitive like mine.

image

Pros of ABH contour: 

The powders come in replaceable plates. You can mix and match and order the colors to your likings. It is more “controllable”, as in it is easier to add more to your contour or hi lights and/or have less. A little cheaper than most contour kits.

Cons of ABH contour:

If you have sensitive skin, it WILL break you out. I’ve seen a lot of people who has the same skin as me use the kit, and it has broke all of them out. The powders are a little tiny and it can run out easily if you’re one to contour and highlight every day. It’s not very pigmented but that could be a pro for some people. 

image

Pros of Kat Von D’s Shade And Light:

In my opinion I love how pigmented the powders are. They’re a lot bigger than the ABH powders so you wouldn’t run out of it as fast as you would with the ABH one. The colors are much more NATURAL. You don’t have to keep adding onto your brush since the powder is so pigmented so a little can go very far with the Kat Von D shade and light. There’s mirror 🙂 You can definitely use all of the colors in the palette.

Cons of Kat Von D’s Shade and Light:

It is a little more pricey than ABH’s.  You cannot switch the palette’s colors and you can’t replace them if one happens to run out.. Therefore you might have to buy another one. It’s kinda messy because of how pigmented the powders are, so you have to be careful using it, it will go everywhere and you will lose a lot of it if you’re not too careful.

All in all, I really love the Kat Von D Shade and Light a lot better because it doesn’t break me out and it is a lot more natural. They’re both really great products and they are worth the price. 😊

Leave a comment